advanced search
ateneo header
Jesuit Basic Education Commission
Jesuit Basic Education Commission

   The Jesuit Basic Education Commission (JBEC) of the Philippines was founded in 1989 to coordinate the work of the eight secondary schools and seven elementary schools which are directly administered by the Philippine Province of the Society of Jesus. At present 1,539 Jesuit and lay administrators, faculty and staff members serve 29,708 students.

The member institutions are:
Ateneo de Davao GS-HS
Ateneo de Iloilo-Sta. Maria Cath. School GS-HS
Ateneo de Manila GS-HS
Ateneo de Naga HS
Ateneo de Zamboanga GS-HS
Sacred Heart (Cebu) GS-HS
Xavier School(San Juan) GS-HS
Xavier Univ(Cag de Oro) GS-HS
The JBEC is a commission of the Jesuit Education Association (JEA) of the Philippines. It is directly accountable to the JEA Board composed of Fr. Provincial with the Presidents and Directors of the eight member institutions.

The Provincial is the head of the JEA and, at present, Fr. William H. Kreutz, S.J. is Executive Secretary of the JEA. Fr. James A. O'Donnell, S.J. is Director of the JBEC.

"Significant apostolic renewal has been initiated and carried forward by the large number of Jesuits and lay people working in the apostolate of basic education... The quality of education has improved in line with the principles enunciated in "The Characteristics of Jesuit Education (1987) and Ignatian Pedagogy: A Practical Approach (1993). (Decree 18 of General Congregation 34, 1995)

Contact Information

3/F Hoffner Bldg.
Social Development Complex
Ateneo de Manila University
Katipunan Road, Loyola Hts., Q.C.

Tel No. : 426-6001 local 4838
Fax No. : 426-1236
E-mail Address:

Share |