advanced search
Latest Updates
11 January 2010


       FROM    :    MRS. Ma. ROSARIO A. BANZON
                             Secretary of the Board

  SUBJECT    :    Nominations for the Traditional University Awards

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

The Honors and Awards Committee of the Board of Trustees is inviting nominations for the Traditional University Awards to be conferred at ceremonies in July 2010.  The list of awards are as follows:

1.    Honorary Degree  
for notable and invaluable contributions in his/her field (professional, scientific, business, academic, civic, environment, etc…) conferred as Doctor of Humanities, Doctor of Laws, Doctor of Music, Doctor of Literature, Doctor of Science or Doctor of Pedagogy

2.    Lux in Domino
capstone award given to alumnus/a for crowning achievement of both life and work who has incarnated in life the noblest ideals of the Ateneo de Manila University

3.    Bukas Palad 
award given to the religious that captures the Ignatian spirit of “Generosity,” unconditional and dedicated service beyond the ordinary of an understanding of the prophetic role of the Church in today’s world

4.    Ozanam
award given to laymen/women who have given distinctive and continued service to their fellowmen in accordance with the principles of  Justice and Charity  

5.    Tanglaw ng Lahi 
award given to those who have dedicated their life’s work to the pursuit of Filipinism and the Filipino identity through any channels of culture

6.    Government Service
award given to holders of positions in government, in fulfillment of his/her direct duties within the public service and for the promotion of a public policy, program or activity which is foundational, innovative and significant for the common good

7.    Parangal Lingkod Sambayanan 
award given to an individual or organization in recognition of an outstanding public service in areas of endeavor that supplement or complement what government should be or is doing

Immediately following are copies of the revised University policies on these traditional awards, a listing of awardees to date and nomination form.

Please use attached Nomination Form together with the nominee's resume and send to the Honors and Awards Committee, c/o Mrs. Angeles Franco (local 4059), Consultant, Office of the President. The decision on the Honorary Degree and other Traditional Awards will be made at the Board of Trustees meetings in February and May 2010. The deadline for submission of nominations is Monday, 25 January 2010.

Thank you.
                                    Ma. Rosario A. Banzon
                                    Secretary of the Board

Share |