advanced search
Ateneo header
2006 Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame
Ateneo honored its sports heroes during the 10th Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame awarding ceremony last Nov. 11, 2006 at the Grade School Auditorium, Ateneo de Manila Loyola Heights campus.

This year’s roster of awardees includes 16 Hall of Famers, 6 Special Awardees and 7 Special Citation recipients.

The Hall of Fame awardees are Manuel R. Aquino, Edgardo V. Bunuan, Richard V. Croghan, Jaime J. Cruz, Jose C. Estella III, Manuel S. Estrella, Andres Francisco, Jose Ma. A. Gayoso (+), Raymond T. Holscher SJ, Jaime M. Javier, Edgardo J. Jayme, Julio Cesar M. Manalo (+) , Arnulfo Merida, Vincent P. Reyes, Manolito O. Valdes Jr., and Fernando Villarreal.

The recipients of the Special Award are Fr. Carmelo A. Caluag II, Jose K. Campos Jr., Enrico M. Ingles, Mauricio C. Martelino, Christopher Monfort (+), and Gabriel P. Tomas.

The Ateneo Men’s Football team, composed of Emmanuel Michael B. Gimarino, Ignatius Michael D. Ingles, Roger Anthony Lastimado, John Paul Merida, Patrick F. Ozaeta, Alvin A. Perez, and Tristan Jason R. Tongson, will be recognized for winning a three-peat for the Ateneo for the years 2004, 2005, and 2006 in the Special Citation.

The Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame awards and enshrines successful and deserving Ateneo athletes, coaches, athletic directors, cheerleaders and patrons of sports. The first awarding ceremony was held in 1979 and every three years thereafter.

The members of this year’s ASHOF Board of Directors are Victor A. Sison, Edmidio V. Ramos, Jr., Cristino L. Panlilio, Richard N. Palou, Grogorio Y. Narvasa II, Abundio S. Camua, and Jimmy C. Alabanza.

Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame

By Michelle Camille Correa

Photomontage by Teya Sabado

Share |